dazed and confused

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
kali444

dazed and confused

Postby kali444 » Sat Jan 07, 2006 4:54 pm

Hi there, I was wondering if I could get some advice on my situation.

I am currently a sophomore studying engineering at uc berkeley, the college being number one for my major. my current gpa is less than stellar, a 2.8 to be exact, and judging by my future curriculum- it probably wont raise above a 3.0. That being said, I have a few questions...

1- Unfortunately, I regret to say that I was involved in an incident of cheating this past semester and received an F in one of my general engineering courses. The incident was reported to the office of student conduct. I plan on retaking the course so that the F will not factor into my gpa, however the score will still show up on my overall transcipt. How do you think this will affect my law school application, and will the incident be reported to the candidate schools?

2- Currently I am involved in only science related extracurriculars and only have engineering work experience. What activities, clubs, jobs, etc. should I pursue that would be most impressive on my application?

3- Realistically, what are my chances to get into a top 25 law school with my academic background thus far? And what LSAT score do you think I should be shooting for to make up for it?

I'd really appreciate any feedback, I feel so lost. I really want to go into patent law but I feel it may be out of my reach. thanks

dtrossen

Postby dtrossen » Sun Jan 08, 2006 11:58 pm

I would like to point out that your F will still be factored into your "law school" GPA.
Last edited by dtrossen on Sun Jun 17, 2007 8:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

a14th

Postby a14th » Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:32 am

The cheating incident may not be reported per se, but it may one day come to the attention of your school, should you be admitted.