Please help! Should I drop a class?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jstanhope14

New

Please help! Should I drop a class?

Postby jstanhope14 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 10:16 am

Hey fellow TLSers,

So midterms just ended at my LAC, and our deadline to drop courses w/o penalty is tomorrow. I want to know whether you think I should drop my sociological theory class, which I am anticipating getting a B+ in.

Reasons to drop:
- I'm not a sociology major, just took the class because I really like the professor who teaches it, and I did well in his past classes.
- I'll be applying to law school next fall, during my Senior year, and I'd like to raise my GPA up to 3.8 to have a shot at T6. With a B+ I won't be able to make it out of the low-mid 3.7s.
- I studied for LSAT a little bit this summer and PTed in the high 160s, so with studying for LSAT being my main goal this coming summer (7sage and Powerscore Bibles seem to be to way to go, as well as all the PTs), I'm hoping to score in the 173-174 range, and have a shot at Harvard.

Reasons to not drop:
- Dropping this class will make it so that I'm in just 3 (read: three) classes this term. This is not a problem for now, as we are required to take 3-5 classes each term, and need 32 to graduate (8 semester x 4 classes), but it means I will have to take 5 next semester.
- I'm worried that law schools will not consider my academic record rigorous enough if they see I was only enrolled in 3 classes in semester. On the flip side, however, I'm quite convinced that they don't really care about anything beyond raw GPA (which is what they report, not your number of classes), but then again when everyone has your numbers, admissions counselors must look for something to differentiate applicants.

Any and all advice would be appreciated!

btruj777

Bronze

Re: Please help! Should I drop a class?

Postby btruj777 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 10:30 am

Hello,