Is Law School for me?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

Is Law School for me?

Postby JOHN3IT » Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:40 pm

And what ones could I get into?

Hello Everybody,

My name is John. I am new to these forums, and discovered you guys after doing some very preliminary research of potentially going on this journey. I am a 27 year old computer tech that works for a pretty well-known non-profit in the tri-state area USA. I am starting to look at law schools there, namely in New York City, to practice Intellectual Property Law. My dream job is making technology law of any sort. As I love tech and research. I heard mentioning where I work could help in a future application process, I may or may not want to take. I graduated from a lower level university in Florida in 2012. I have been working in the technology sector for four years now. More than two of those years at the non-profit mentioned before. For my bachelor's degree I took Computer Information Systems. I got a 2.8 GPA Overall and a 3.0 in my major.

I didn't realize how important these grades were when I was in college because I didn't realize that I may have wanted to go back to school one day.

What should I do about my low GPA from undergraduate? Should I get a master's first? What should I do next?

Re: Is Law School for me?

Postby HYPSM » Sun Oct 09, 2016 8:58 pm

Last edited by HYPSM on Tue Mar 14, 2017 7:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rigo » Mon Oct 10, 2016 10:47 am

I wouldn't. You'll either go to a shitty school with bad job prospects or pay sticker as a super splitter at a good school.

Postby toobig2lose » Sun Nov 20, 2016 10:45 pm

It won't help to go to grad school. Your undergrad gpa is set on stone and Admissions will only look at your undergrad GPA and the LSAT for numbers.