How important is volunteering experience for law school applications? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
tejas511@yahoo.com

New

How important is volunteering experience for law school applications?

Post by tejas511@yahoo.com » Sun Sep 18, 2016 11:18 pm

Hello everyone. My name is Tejas. I created this account in order for me to conveniently ask questions related to law school. I have no volunteer experience at all. Is it important that I get some experience prior to applying? I have yet to take the LSAT either. I was going to take it in September but have now decided to take it in December instead. I am trying to get into a law school hopefully by next September. Thank you.

PDX4343

Silver

Re: How important is volunteering experience for law school applications?

Post by PDX4343 » Mon Sep 19, 2016 12:03 am

tejas511@yahoo.com wrote:Hello everyone. My name is Tejas. I created this account in order for me to conveniently ask questions related to law school. I have no volunteer experience at all. Is it important that I get some experience prior to applying? I have yet to take the LSAT either. I was going to take it in September but have now decided to take it in December instead. I am trying to get into a law school hopefully by next September. Thank you.
Waiting to take the LSAT until December is going to make your applications on the later side for this cycle. So you might want to end up waiting until the next cycle to apply for a better shot at scholarship money and acceptances at your target schools. You can always try this cycle, but just be prepared for that possibility.