Should I talk about my weird YouTube success?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
brennakate

New

Should I talk about my weird YouTube success?

Postby brennakate » Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:42 pm

First of all, numbers : 3.94 GPA, 168 LSAT.

I have 3+ years work experience as a courtroom clerk, my LORs are both from judges.

I feel good about all of that.

Here's the part I'm torn on-- I've been a touring slam poet for a few years, wrote & published a book of poetry, and have 3+ million views on YouTube for my poetry. While this is all stuff that I'm proud of, and I think highlights my skill as a public speaker, the content of the poetry itself is all pretty personal, and not something I'd necessarily lead with to an admissions counselor. With that being said, my poetry is the first thing that comes up on a Google search of my name, so it's not exactly easy to hide. Do I include this on my resume? Talk about it in my personal statement? Ignore it completely and hope it never comes up?

Thanks for your help!

cavalier1138

Gold

Re: Should I talk about my weird YouTube success?

Postby cavalier1138 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:45 pm

Talk about it.

They're going to Google your name anyway, and unlike most things that people have on the internet, you have reason to be proud of this one.

Gold

Postby 20170322 » Fri Sep 16, 2016 2:46 pm

I say go for it. I'd listened to (and been impressed by) "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" before reading your post, and I think it speaks to your advocacy and intelligence. This is stuff you should be really proud of, regardless of how personal it is.

LikelyThrowaway

Bronze

Postby LikelyThrowaway » Fri Sep 16, 2016 3:07 pm

This is the kind of soft I'd get excited about if I were an adcomm. I'd definitely play it up. Adcomms aren't so stuffy that they'd be appalled by poetry that's personal and revealing, if they do take the time to look it up themselves.

theconsigliere

Bronze