Binding quick decision with extremely low lsat or regular submission with improved lsat?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lawlessly

New

Binding quick decision with extremely low lsat or regular submission with improved lsat?

Postby lawlessly » Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:03 pm

I'm applying to the J.D. program at Francis King Carey School of Law, where my GPA is above that of the average applicant (3.8/4.0), but my LSAT score is significantly lower (147). I am planning to re-take the LSAT in February, and I'm wondering whether it would be more advantageous to submit my application near the final deadline after having time to improve my score, or to apply through the binding quick decision program. I have a lot of professional experience relative to the average college senior, 3 strong recommendations, and well-written essays. I'm also a first generation college student, queer, and someone who grew up in a single-parent family that struggled with poverty and substance abuse. I know that my academic performance, recommendations, and personal background will all be considered in my application, but I'm not sure if they are sufficient to compensate for my low LSAT score. I would appreciate any advice regarding when I should plan to submit my application. Thanks!
Last edited by lawlessly on Sun Sep 11, 2016 12:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

theconsigliere

Bronze

Re: Binding quick decision with extremely low lsat or regular submission with improved lsat?

Postby theconsigliere » Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:10 pm