Reapplying after dropping out?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
grtbooks91

New

Reapplying after dropping out?

Postby grtbooks91 » Fri Aug 26, 2016 8:58 am

Bit of a long story here, but I'll try to keep it as short as possible:

I graduated undergrad about 5 years ago and had a 3.8/167 when I went to apply right after UG. Ended up at a T20 school with about $70k of $$. Completed first semester with a 3.7 GPA (2 A, 1 A-, 1 B+, 1 B) and in the top 10% or so of my class. Went back for second semester but ended up withdrawing towards the end due to some tough circumstances I was in at the time with my health and a lack of real passion for being at law school. Not sure what it's worth but it wasn't technically a medical withdrawal, just a voluntary one. I had already lined up a summer internship for 1L with a federal COA feeder judge and had to back out of that - pretty rough.

After getting my shit together I worked at some small law firms (doing PI and contract stuff, super dull) for about a year and then began working at a big-name U in fundraising. I've been here a little over 2 years now and have definitely been moving up quickly and enjoy it. I'm not completely sure I'm done with law school yet, though, and before I go any farther with even thinking about going back, I wanted to get advice from you all:

Would my 1L grades from 1st semester be of any positive use in applying again if I decided to? I don't have any lasting relationships with profs from 1L that I could ask to write letters, but I'd like to think those are at least pretty good grades that any school I applied to would have to see? I imagine I'd have to write a pretty good PS explaining why the drop out and why I wanted to come back with specific long-term aspirations, but assuming I could do that, would I basically be in the same or slightly better of a position as I was the first time I applied coming out of UG?

floatie

Silver

Re: Reapplying after dropping out?