Disability Reveal?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lsatisfunbro1996

New

Disability Reveal?

Postby lsatisfunbro1996 » Wed Aug 24, 2016 2:33 pm

Hello, I have high-functioning aspergers and have greatly improved. I am a high-achieving student at a top 100 university with a 3.9 gpa. I was wondering if revealing my disability and how I have overcame it would be to my advantage. I know that adcomms, law school in particular, appreciate diversity. I have just started prepping for the lsat and am achieving low 160s; My goal is a t14 school. Thank you for your input.

HonestAdvice

Bronze

Re: Disability Reveal?

Postby HonestAdvice » Wed Aug 24, 2016 4:00 pm

If you crack the high 160s or better, it's probably not worth the risk. You could probably get full scholarships to some t-14s with a 170 or so.

vcap180

Bronze

Postby vcap180 » Wed Aug 24, 2016 8:29 pm

HonestAdvice wrote:If you crack the high 160s or better, it's probably not worth the risk. You could probably get full scholarships to some t-14s with a 170 or so.

Not worth the "risk"? Lmao, uh, what kind of risk? That his disability might adversely impact his admissions decisions?

Assuming his numbers are up to par, It will either do nothing or it will help. Theres no chance of it hurting his prospects - that, it would seem, is called discrimination.

bmathers

Silver

Postby bmathers » Wed Aug 24, 2016 9:03 pm

vcap180 wrote:
HonestAdvice wrote:If you crack the high 160s or better, it's probably not worth the risk. You could probably get full scholarships to some t-14s with a 170 or so.

Assuming his numbers are up to par, It will either do nothing or it will help. Theres no chance of it hurting his prospects - that, it would seem, is called discrimination.

Good luck trying to prove that discrimination. There are enough working parts to an application that a LS could try to hide behind.

vcap180

Bronze

Postby vcap180 » Wed Aug 24, 2016 9:26 pm

bmathers wrote:
vcap180 wrote: