Any T-14/T-20 schools that just don't give out fee waivers?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
brinicolec

Gold

Any T-14/T-20 schools that just don't give out fee waivers?

Postby brinicolec » Thu Aug 04, 2016 2:11 am

As we near the start of the cycle, I've started to look at different law school sites specifically for their info on requesting fee waivers because, after calculating how much I might have to pay total to apply all the places on my list I realized I'm gonna have to cross my fingers for some more fee waivers. Figured I would save myself some trouble by asking if there's any schools that are known to not give out fee waivers (I'm not TFA or a military vet --- even though I was a military dependent until I graduated college in May :roll:). So far, it looks like UChicago might not be too keen on giving fee waivers that are solicited and I've been wondering about NYU as well. It also looks like Columbia only does the LSAC waivers, not one through their school, based on their site -- can anyone confirm/deny this?

gsy987

Bronze

Re: Any T-14/T-20 schools that just don't give out fee waivers?

Postby gsy987 » Thu Aug 04, 2016 2:17 am

Unless I'm highly mistaken, I think a lot depends on your LSAT score and where it falls in range with the law school you want to attend. I have heard that U of Chicago isn't big on fee waivers, but I'd bet you could find someone who has received one if you asked around enough!

One pro-tip is to go to a law school fair if you get the chance. I went to one in Chicago last year, and a good amount of schools were handing out fee waivers like candy (I particularly remember UVA doing this!) The fair itself is almost useless, but hey, if it saves you $300 bucks in fee waivers, couldn't hurt to make a trip to one :D

mollywood

New

Postby mollywood » Thu Aug 04, 2016 8:45 am

I know that Columbia is known to give non-need-based unsolicited fee waivers, but I don't know about solicited ones.

theconsigliere