Can someone give advice?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
fsu2013philip

New

Can someone give advice?

Postby fsu2013philip » Tue Aug 02, 2016 3:45 pm

Hi all,

I am curious as to what you all think my chances are with my situation. I graduated Spring 2013 from a state school, and I have worked full-time in a professional environment since graduation. I currently work as a legislative staffer for the appropriations committee of my state's legislature.

My undergrad gpa was a 2.5 unfortunately. I majored in applied economics. I don't really want to get into excuses, obviously I wish I had done better but I am not going to cry over spilled milk. That being said, I do feel that my career advancement shows that my gpa is not entirely indicative of my abilities.

I have been practicing the lsat for some time now and feel pretty strongly that I will get between 165-170 when I take.

I would like to work in public/government interest law in the DC area preferably, and I know that DC is extremely competitive.

I feel like the highest ranked school I have a chance at is WUSTL; but it seems that so many people DESPISE that school and literally recommend any other school over it.

So I have some questions:

1) What do you all think of WUSTL for my situation?

2) I know you all probably don't like hypotheticals but let's say I get a 167, is it safe to assume I pretty much have no chance of t14?

3) Will any realistic score put me into the t14 running?

4) If I don't get t14 then what would be my best bet for a school that can place in DC?

Thanks

jag13

Bronze

Re: Can someone give advice?

Postby jag13 » Wed Aug 03, 2016 12:40 pm

What have been your practice test scores? Are you scoring consistently between 165-170?
Also, based on your username I think I know what school you went to, although it may not be much, when LSAC recalculates your GPA it should be just SLIGHTLY higher, based on how your school scales letter grades to begin with.