Christian College to Ivy League Law School? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ShenmueRemake

New

Christian College to Ivy League Law School?

Post by ShenmueRemake » Thu Jul 28, 2016 4:00 am

I'm an LSAT tutor and have a student who goes to a for-profit Christian school called Grand Canyon University. She has her heart set on an Ivy League school. Do people from such schools get admitted to credible law schools? I'd better tell her now so she can make the decision if its even worth studying for the LSAT.

raven1231

Bronze

Re: Christian College to Ivy League Law School?

Post by raven1231 » Thu Jul 28, 2016 5:04 am

Certainly. As long as she has a good GPA for them to showcase.

ponderingmeerkat

Gold

Post by ponderingmeerkat » Thu Jul 28, 2016 9:27 am

If she can drop a solid LSAT on top of a decent GPA, I'm pretty there's not a law school in the country that will care.

My only concern would be making sure her university is accredited. Some of those really fringe-y religious universities aren't and I could see THAT being a no-go. Since I'm unfamiliar with this particular school of hers, that's probably worth looking into. But, assuming it is, have her keep that GPA up and study for the LSAT and anything is possible.

LawTweet

Bronze

Post by LawTweet » Thu Jul 28, 2016 10:57 am

My hunch is that she'll be fine. Grand Canyon is in the process of trying to go non-profit and is actually a residential college too. It's one of the slightly more legit for-profit schools in my experience.

grand inquisitor

Gold

Post by grand inquisitor » Thu Jul 28, 2016 11:11 am

wait are they really remaking shenmue?

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Thu Jul 28, 2016 11:14 am

Yeah, I'd be much more worried about the "for-profit" part than the Christian part.

KissMyAxe

Bronze

Post by KissMyAxe » Thu Jul 28, 2016 11:18 am

Post Deleted