Chances of Getting into Law School? Low GPA, High LSAT, work experience

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
SS.JDHopeful12

New

Chances of Getting into Law School? Low GPA, High LSAT, work experience

Postby SS.JDHopeful12 » Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:33 pm

Hi Everyone,

Law school has always been a goal of mine. I graduated college 1.5 years ago with a degree in engineering. At the time of graduation, I unfortunately had a low GPA. My school calculated it at a 2.89 and LSAC at 2.45. This is something I am not proud of, but I have an explanation for this as well. My four years at university were very tumultuous. I suffered from deaths in the family, anxiety, and the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. My family suffered extremely by it. I was left trying to fund my own education while working to help my family rebuild our life. I was pre-med, but because of everything that happened, I didn't pursue that route. Because of all this, I wasn't able to put my 100% into my school work. I know it's not an excuse so I worked hard to do the best that I could in the circumstances I was facing. After graduation, due to my internships and co-ops, I was able to land a job in the #6 Fortune 500 company, where my work has been recognized by senior execs and VPs. I also created a medical device that is now patent pending. I did take the LSATs and ended up scoring a 178. My GPA was horrible, but I don't want it to define me. I want to be a patent lawyer and I have never been more sure of this. So, my question is will my work experience, LSAT score, and resume help me get into law school despite my low GPA?

Thank you in advance.

Alive97

Bronze

Re: Chances of Getting into Law School? Low GPA, High LSAT, work experience

Postby Alive97 » Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:38 pm

Last edited by Alive97 on Fri May 05, 2017 10:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

ticklemesilly

Bronze

Postby ticklemesilly » Wed Jul 27, 2016 11:49 pm