Are you all 100% sure you want to be a lawyer?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Needdirection

New

Are you all 100% sure you want to be a lawyer?

Postby Needdirection » Thu Jul 21, 2016 11:04 pm

I am applying to law school but not 100% sure that I would want to practice law for an extended period of time. Is it true that the law degree just isn't as flexible anymore? If I don't get a law degree, I have no idea what else to do with my career. I'm a 2015 grad currently working in media

Barack O'Drama

Gold

Re: Are you all 100% sure you want to be a lawyer?

Postby Barack O'Drama » Thu Jul 21, 2016 11:15 pm

Needdirection wrote:I am applying to law school but not 100% sure that I would want to practice law for an extended period of time. Is it true that the law degree just isn't as flexible anymore? If I don't get a law degree, I have no idea what else to do with my career. I'm a 2015 grad currently working in media

No longer as flexible as it was. The J.D. will act as a scarlet letter on your resume outside of law/law related. Other jobs will generally see you a defunct; as someone who could hack law--Not my words, a friend who left law after 2 years told me this. He eventually found a job as a teacher. I'm not sure if that was hyperbole, but I know he is really smart; hustled; not lazy. Top grades from undergrad, and good grades at a lower T14.

You say you have a job in media, but have no idea what else to do with your career. This doesn't strike me as someone who should rush into law school.