Getting into a Top 14

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
aasikd01

New

Getting into a Top 14

Postby aasikd01 » Sat Jul 02, 2016 4:41 pm

I graduated from the University of Louisville in May 2014 with a BA in Economics as a traditional 4 year student. I also minored in Political Science and Finance.

I received a C- and a D in Advanced Biology and Organic Chemistry I, respectively. I took these very difficult classes when I was a pre-med Bio major. Other than that, I received mostly A's, and a couple B's. My overall GPA was 3.67.

At U of L, I was a McConnell Scholar, a prestigious 4 year program that selects 10 students every year based on academic and leadership ability. It is meant to be a liberal arts "Ivy League" experience at Louisville. As a scholar, I met Joe Biden, John Boehner, Hilary Clinton, Aung San Suu Kyi, and a few other big political figures.

I studied abroad in China one summer in Shanghai, Xi'an, and Beijing. I also interned for the ACLU one semester, tutored refugees a semester, did international trade internship at KY World Trade Center, and did a lot of volunteering in college.

As of May 2016, I finished my two year commitment to Teach For America. I am going to teach for a 3rd year at my school.

During my second year teaching, I completed my first year of a Master's in Education online through Johns Hopkins. It is the 2nd best education program in the US. I am going to complete this program by June 2017, right before I plan to start law school.

So far, I've received all A's and A-'s in my Master's program. My GPA is 3.75 so far. I strongly believe I will continue to receive A's and A-'s in the program, with the possibility of one or two B's. (Side note: an A in most classes in a 95 and higher, while an A-is 90-94. I plan to mention this on my application.)