PS and LORs Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

Write a quick PS for recommenders or not?

Write a quick PS that will likely be mediocre
No votes
Explain that you don't have a PS because you won't be applying for a year and a half
100%

Total votes: 2

leslieNOPE

New

PS and LORs

Post by leslieNOPE » Tue May 31, 2016 12:31 pm

Hi all! I'm currently an undergrad finishing school in the fall, but not planning on applying to law school until next fall (taking a year and a half off). I've begun asking professors for letters of recommendation in order to get the best ones possible, since they still remember me and my abilities/participation at this point. I understand that it is customary to send a personal statement draft along with other materials such as transcripts and resumes to your recommender and one of mine has already requested a draft. Since I won't be applying to law school for another year and a half, I haven't actually started writing a personal statement yet and therefore don't have anything to send him. Should I write up a brief PS this week even though it likely won't be very good and almost certainly won't be used with my final applications? I imagine that simply telling my professor that I don't have one might leave a bad impression - am I correct in assuming this or is asking for a letter without a personal statement more common than I think it is?

TheRealSantaClaus

Bronze

Re: PS and LORs

Post by TheRealSantaClaus » Tue May 31, 2016 1:07 pm

Last edited by TheRealSantaClaus on Tue Jun 28, 2016 1:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

leslieNOPE

New

Post by leslieNOPE » Tue May 31, 2016 1:10 pm

Do professors usually use personal statements to learn more about the student as an applicant/for the content of the statement or do they use them primarily to look for the quality of the writing?

(I understand that you are likely not a professor and probably can't answer with certainty)

TLSDookie

New