Freaking out about my GPA Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
aviopls

New

Freaking out about my GPA

Post by aviopls » Tue May 24, 2016 11:48 pm

I'm coming from a school ranked in the top 15 of the North (according to US News) but has a high acceptance rate, so I know I'm already sort of at a disadvantage here not coming from a top national university.

When I was a freshman, my parents insisted I major in physics. I hated physics and I hated math but I did it anyway because I didn't have any other idea of what to major in. I was a terrible student because I had no desire to succeed because I hated my schedule, my classes, and my environment. I wound up failing calculus and getting an overall GPA of about a 2. I didn't even do well in my gen eds because I just didn't try at all. I did a complete 180 the following semester because I finally decided to major in something that matches my passion, environmental science. I didn't care what career path I'd wind up pursuing because all I cared about was doing something with the environment. Second semester I pulled off a 3.7 GPA, even though I was only in 1 environment class and the rest were gen eds. When I realized how perfect a career as an environmental lawyer would be for me and how badly I wanted to go to a top 10 law school, I really threw it into overdrive.

Now I'm a (rising) senior with a 3.74 cumulative GPA. I've tried talking to my dean to see if I could at least get the F class on my transcript stricken (so that the LSAC wouldn't calculate it into my GPA) but was politely rejected. I'm stuck with this GPA. However, I scored a 173 on the LSAT in February. I can't stop kicking myself for how I messed up my fall semester of freshman year, because I feel like I ruined my chances so early on.