Defer HLS or Re-apply Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
josh61693

New

Defer HLS or Re-apply

Post by josh61693 » Mon Apr 18, 2016 11:45 pm

Just got waitlisted at Stanford, got accepted to Harvard in January. I recently decided that I want to work for a year or two more (I graduated in 2015 and spent a year in Puerto Rico running a very small food cart business) at a real job (consulting) before starting law school.

Deciding if I should defer HLS and thus be locked in to attending there or re-apply with more substantial work experience under my belt and hopefully get into Stanford.

I was planning on applying to consulting firms end of April/early May. Alternatively, I could apply to firms this summer after riding the Stanford waitlist and receiving a decision, then either go straight to Stanford this Fall (if accepted) or get a job (if not). The problem with the lattermost option is a I would have to decline Harvard and thus would be putting all my eggs in the Stanford basket.

Questions are: 1. Will Harvard be less likely to accept me the 2nd time around after declining admission the first time, 2. will I be more likely to get into Stanford the 2nd time around, and 3. If I were to re-apply, could I re-use the Stanford specific rec letters I included in my app this year, and more generally, how much do I have to change in my second application.

Stats are 3.95, 175

Thanks.

Clemenceau

Silver

Re: Defer HLS or Re-apply

Post by Clemenceau » Mon Apr 18, 2016 11:48 pm

No reason to defer. Go to law school when (if ever) you're ready. Those numbers aren't going out of style.

josh61693

New

Post by josh61693 » Tue Apr 19, 2016 12:01 am

So no penalty for denying an acceptance and reapplying at H?

Biglaw1990

Bronze

Post by Biglaw1990 » Tue Apr 19, 2016 12:04 am

josh61693 wrote:So no penalty for denying an acceptance and reapplying at H?
Why S instead of H?

Clemenceau

Silver

Post by Clemenceau » Tue Apr 19, 2016 12:13 am