Should I even try to find a job/intern for my GAP year or... Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
smilesmilesmile

New

Should I even try to find a job/intern for my GAP year or...

Post by smilesmilesmile » Wed Jan 20, 2016 2:14 pm

Hi everyone,
I've done tons of research on this topic and I know there's different voices on TLS. But my situation is a little different. So I'm an international student studying at an American college, and it is very hard to find a job that would pay me and let me work (even harder to get a sponsorship) in the U.S. So here is the question, does it even worth spending tons of time applying for jobs/interns for my gap year instead of studying for LSAT? I've also dreamed about backpacking around different countries, mostly in Asia, Africa and South America. So I'm thinking to spare half a year doing that since I probably won't have any other time to do that after I start law school.
I'm planning to take my lsat in June and October if June didn't go well. I'm aiming at 172+ and will postpone my application cycle if I can't get into any T14. I'm grateful to have my parents paying my tuition and COL so I'm just trying to get into the best school I can.
Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks so much!

ltbenn

Bronze

Re: Should I even try to find a job/intern for my GAP year or...

Post by ltbenn » Wed Jan 20, 2016 2:23 pm

If money's not an issue, I would suggest you split your time LSAT-prepping and doing volunteer work - could be a good way of keeping busy / adding something to the resume, and particularly for those who come from the kind of background that allows for parents to fund american is degrees from overseas, it could help off-set the sheltered/privileged vibe.