Impact on Admission: Loss of Employment Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
goldoldman

New

Impact on Admission: Loss of Employment

Post by goldoldman » Sun Dec 06, 2015 11:47 am

Hey guys, I am an engineer by qualification and for the last couple months, I have not been working. The company I worked for ran out of work, and was trying to force a lot of the employees into taking temp positions elsewhere as technicians, so a lot of us quit to save our resumes. What if I do not find a job for another 6 months? How does it impact my admission prospects? I have been working as an engineer for more than 12 years and I do not have any other gaps in my resume.

I would appreciate your input.
Last edited by goldoldman on Mon Dec 28, 2015 12:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Rigo

Diamond

Re: Impact on Admission: Loss of Employment

Post by Rigo » Sun Dec 06, 2015 12:46 pm

Won't really matter. The 12 years will be a plus, if anything.

Desert Fox

Diamond

DFTHREAD

Post by Desert Fox » Sun Dec 06, 2015 1:28 pm

Last edited by Desert Fox on Sat Jan 27, 2018 3:27 am, edited 2 times in total.

goldoldman

New

Post by goldoldman » Tue Dec 08, 2015 5:47 pm

Rigo wrote:Won't really matter. The 12 years will be a plus, if anything.
Thanks.

Dishydiana

New

Post by Dishydiana » Wed Dec 09, 2015 1:21 pm

Desert Fox wrote:
1) Go find a job

2) Don't go to law school.
Plenty of IP lawyers have significant backgrounds in the hard sciences...and there's a shortage of IP lawyers...and they can make lots and lots of money...and some people genuinely enjoy IP work (perhaps as an in-house as a patent author, or as a litigator on behalf of behemoth companies...or even on the other side of the fence in Big Fed)

I'm assuming OP is interested in IP law, based off of their stated background. Kind of curious what they're interested in, if not.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

iamapipersson

New