Are current stats good enough for top law schools? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
EllieR

New

Are current stats good enough for top law schools?

Post by EllieR » Tue Nov 10, 2015 5:55 am

Hello, this is my first time ever posting on TLS but I have been a long time follower of many posts. I am currently in my second year of undergrad but I have junior level standing. I took the LSAT in June-I managed a 174, and as of right now my GPA is a 4.02. I plan on applying to law school in the Fall of next year. I am very proud of my numbers, but I fear that my interesting situation will cause me some trouble when applying to law schools. For starters, I started my undergrad career at a CC. I know law school is devastatingly expensive and being in so much debt during my undergraduate schooling did not seem worth it to me. My AP scores from high school really gave me a unit count boost and thus allowing me to graduate a year early. I am currently still a CC student who just applied to a four year university, but I do have an agreement with a local university so I cross enroll so that I can take upper division major classes at a low cost-$52 a course!! However, that is besides the point, I am very worried that law schools will not care to accept me because of the fact that I attended a CC. I have never read another student who also went to a CC on TLS mention that Yale/Harvard/Columbia accepted them. I do not regret my decision to save money, but I really hope this does not come back to haunt me. A secondary issue of mine is that EC's seem daunting. What qualifies as a solid EC to get into a top law school? I am lacking in the EC department; I interned at my local courthouse for six months and clocked in over 400 hours, but besides that all I have done is teach a Sunday school class for the past five years. I have not traveled to a underdeveloped nation or interned for the governor of my state as I have read on a few posts on TLS. The main reaso