I'm taking some time off before law school, besides numbers what is the best way to make my application stand out? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lillawyer2

Silver

I'm taking some time off before law school, besides numbers what is the best way to make my application stand out?

Post by lillawyer2 » Fri Sep 25, 2015 2:20 pm

I am working on fluency for multiple languages: Spanish, Russian, Chinese and maybe Hebrew. I'm hoping this will work in my favor for employment.

I currently work as a assistant to a CFO in Manhattan.

In the meantime, before I take my June 2016 LSAT, what can i do to look better on paper?

I was thinking about working in the legal field, as a second job or an internship, but I don't think it makes much of a difference and the hassle/stress isn't worth it.

Law1491

Bronze

Re: I'm taking some time off before law school, besides numbers what is the best way to make my application stand out?

Post by Law1491 » Fri Sep 25, 2015 4:50 pm

It looks like you already have a lot to stand out. You just need the numbers, legal job is not necessary at all. If you have some time, volunteering might be nice to show community service, but again it is not necessary at all.

pancakes3

Platinum

Re: I'm taking some time off before law school, besides numbers what is the best way to make my application stand out?

Post by pancakes3 » Fri Sep 25, 2015 4:57 pm

Languages are good, substantive work experience is good, but really this helps once you get into LS and are interviewing for jobs. I don't know how much this is going to help the LS application itself.

lillawyer2

Silver

Post by lillawyer2 » Fri Sep 25, 2015 5:20 pm

Law1491 wrote:It looks like you already have a lot to stand out. You just need the numbers, legal job is not necessary at all. If you have some time, volunteering might be nice to show community service, but again it is not necessary at all.