T6 PS and work experience Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
libertttarian

New

T6 PS and work experience

Post by libertttarian » Wed Jul 08, 2015 1:17 am

Hey guys. I'm a recent grad with a 3.90-3.95 gpa and 177 lsat. I'm taking this year off to work in state politics, LA type stuff with a focus on an issue like healthcare, education, etc.

Goal would be HYS or CCN with $$; I'm wondering how I should frame my work experience, if I should make it a point at all in my PS. Should my resume just speak for itself or is it ok to use the PS to talk about my passion for politics and how a law degree opens doors in that field?

If it matters, I have no real softs. I was a STEM major and didn't join many groups in college, although I have work experience in civic type jobs. Is my lack of engagement with ug going to matter, or will work experience and a focus on relevant goals make up for it?
Does the calculus change for YS vs HCCN?

Thanks for the time!

nerd1

Bronze

Re: T6 PS and work experience

Post by nerd1 » Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:15 am

Don't worry about anything. You didn't need to post this.

You will get into at least one, probably two, of HYS. Don't bother applying to N. Just apply to CC only. You will get substantial scholarship offers from CC.

Congrats!

-- From my own experience with similar stats

Sotfs? Your WE would be an ok soft, and besides, numbers>>softs for law school admissions.

Auxilio

Silver

Post by Auxilio » Wed Jul 08, 2015 4:38 pm

Yeah I wouldn't worry at all about your application. Ignore what the person above said about skipping NYU though. You are not guaranteed (although good chances) at a Hamilton or Ruby, so throwing your name out for a Vanderbilt (if not even going a little lower) is definitely the right approach.

Clemenceau

Silver

Post by Clemenceau » Wed Jul 08, 2015 4:45 pm

nerd1 wrote: Don't bother applying to N. Just apply to CC only. You will get substantial scholarship offers from CC.