High GPA Low Prestige Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Simurgh

New

High GPA Low Prestige

Post by Simurgh » Thu May 07, 2015 4:47 am

Hi Top Law Schools,

I am currently a Masters Student with an Expected Graduation in December 2015. I am looking around for options, and since one of my parents went to a T14 Law School, I want to apply as well. Here are my stats.

Undergrad GPA: 3.8 (Unranked Undergraduate)
Graduate GPA: 4.0 (Top 100 National University)
Verbal GRE: 167
LSAT Practice (No Prep): 170

No LSAT yet, but I expect to take it in either June or October if possible. I have a fair amount of extracurriculars but nothing really special. Which schools should I consider applying to, is it unthinkable to get in a T14 with the lack of prestige? I would prefer to get into a dual degree program. Also what is the best LSAT Prep in the SF Bay Area? Thanks everyone.

- Simurgh
Last edited by Simurgh on Thu May 07, 2015 4:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mack.Hambleton

Platinum

Re: High GPA Low Prestige

Post by Mack.Hambleton » Thu May 07, 2015 4:51 am

Do some more research and search the forums because this has been answered a 1000 times, but in short no ug prestige doesn't matter, all that matters is your ug gpa, your masters gpa is irrelevant, impossible to tell chances without an LSAT score, use mylsn.info for approximating admissions based off your numbers

Simurgh

New

Post by Simurgh » Thu May 07, 2015 4:54 am

Mack.Hambleton wrote:Do some more research and search the forums because this has been answered a 1000 times, but in short no ug prestige doesn't matter, all that matters is your ug gpa, your masters gpa is irrelevant, impossible to tell chances without an LSAT score, use mylsn.info for approximating admissions based off your numbers
Thanks Mack. I appreciate it.

LawsRUs

Gold

Post by LawsRUs » Thu May 07, 2015 5:12 am

1. Prestige doesn't matter, just apply to where your LSAT score gets you.