How Important is Work Ex Rec?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
biggestlawman

How Important is Work Ex Rec?

Postby biggestlawman » Wed May 06, 2015 10:18 pm

I have been working for the last 10 years, and I can get a rec from my present employer, I have worked there for 5 years. I can also get recs from grad and UG professors. Is it important to get a rec from the employer?

dwyf

Re: How Important is Work Ex Rec?

Postby dwyf » Wed May 06, 2015 10:58 pm

Get whichever recs will be most personalized and will be the strongest advocates on your behalf.

I think people will care much more about the substance than the source (though I believe it's generally recommended that you mix and match if you're in your situation - one work, one prof. preferably grad in your case).

k5220

Postby k5220 » Wed May 06, 2015 11:24 pm

you should read school's specific instructions on this- they vary quite a bit. schools like yale really care that you have 2 professors, for instance. other admissions cites will strongly suggest having an employer recommendation. without specification though, i think you should probably just go with what you think will be the strongest (speaking most specifically and enthusiastic about your abilities / participation / personal qualities)
Last edited by k5220 on Thu May 07, 2015 12:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Poldy

Postby Poldy » Wed May 06, 2015 11:55 pm

I submitted only professional LORs and no academic ones. Worked out for me just fine but I wasn't applying to anything above UT so I can't speak to the T-14.

biggestlawman

Postby biggestlawman » Thu May 07, 2015 12:09 am

dwyf wrote:Get whichever recs will be most personalized and will be the strongest advocates on your behalf.

I think people will care much more about the substance than the source (though I believe it's generally recommended that you mix and match if you're in your situation - one work, one prof. preferably grad in your case).

UG: