Study Abroad LSAC GPA question

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Joombi

Study Abroad LSAC GPA question

Postby Joombi » Mon Apr 06, 2015 1:05 pm

I've been trying to find an answer to my question online, but I've come across a few different opinions. I'm currently studying and I'm wondering if these grades will impact my LSAC GPA. My home institution will report these grades as P/F and not factor them into my school GPA; the law schools can ask for the DIS transcripts if they want them.

Will the grades factor into my LSAC GPA?
Last edited by Joombi on Wed Apr 08, 2015 4:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

strugglebus

Re: Study Abroad LSAC GPA question

Postby strugglebus » Mon Apr 06, 2015 4:29 pm

It looks like you have to send the DIS transcripts because it falls under an institution "clearly sponsoring your overseas study."

http://www.lsac.org/jd/applying-to-law- ... ranscripts
LSAC wrote:Required Transcripts
Law schools require you to send all transcripts from the following institutions you may have attended:
  • community colleges
  • undergraduate and graduate institutions
  • law/medical/professional institutions
  • institutions attended for summer or evening courses
  • institutions attended even though a degree was never received
  • institutions from which you took college-level courses while in high school even though they were for high school credit
    • institutions that clearly sponsored your overseas study. Clear sponsorship means
    • the courses received the sponsoring institution's academic credit (not transfer credit)
    • the course codes, titles, credits earned, and grades appear on the sponsoring institution's transcript. Typically, these grades and credits are included in the sponsoring institution's cumulative GPA. The courses are often administered and taught by the sponsoring institution's faculty at an overseas institution.
  • international transcripts, if applicable