Breaking the code of academic integrity Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Budfox55

Bronze

Breaking the code of academic integrity

Post by Budfox55 » Mon Mar 30, 2015 2:29 pm

When I was a sophomore in college I broke the code of academic integrity and was subsequently put on disciplinary probation for a semester for using something which was explicitely stated in the directions not to use (unfortunately for me I had skimmed the directions and hadn't cought that part. Talk about a lesson learned in making sure to fully read directions). How much will this effect my application for top law schools if I graduated from a top school with a good gpa, have top lsat scores, and have 2 years of good work experience? I would also write something owning up to and explaining the situation and what I learned from it. Are we talking no shot at getting in, marginal effect or, as I suspect, somewhere in between? Thank you for your input.

Auxilio

Silver

Re: Breaking the code of academic integrity

Post by Auxilio » Mon Mar 30, 2015 2:40 pm

Its hard to really say without knowing more detail. but it does not sound prohibitively bad (although I would expect a bit of a negative).

Moneytrees

Silver

Post by Moneytrees » Mon Mar 30, 2015 2:56 pm

It's tough to say how much that could impact you. Some schools may see it as a negative, but in today's admissions climate, top schools can't be too picky about applicants. If you have an otherwise stellar application, I can't see this hurting you all that much.

yot11

Bronze

Post by yot11 » Mon Mar 30, 2015 6:45 pm