Given my circumstances, should I pursue an MBA prior to Law?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Philosophus1

Given my circumstances, should I pursue an MBA prior to Law?

Postby Philosophus1 » Sun Mar 22, 2015 2:38 pm

Hello everyone,

I am debating whether or not to pursue an MBA program at my local Cal State university prior to starting law school. I would appreciate any advice that you provide.

Let me give you a little background information about myself so that you will be able to give an informed answer to my question. Originally, I was ‘set’ on getting a PhD in Philosophy. I graduated with two bachelors degrees Summa Cum Laude; one in Arabic and the other in Philosophy (I am fluent in Arabic). I also will be graduating from a top terminal Masters program in Philosophy in a few weeks. I am 22 years old and have decided that it would be more conducive to a fruitful life if I pursue law instead of a PhD in Philosophy. But unfortunately the admissions cycle has already passed, so I will have to wait until the Fall of ’16 to start law school. So I am looking to do something ‘official’ (i.e., something in addition to doing independent things like study for the LSAT) in the interim.