Studying Abroad for a Semester or a Full Year Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ellacataluna

New

Studying Abroad for a Semester or a Full Year

Post by ellacataluna » Sun Mar 08, 2015 11:36 pm

Hi all,

This is my first time posting on this site, so excuse me if I mess up etiquette! But straight to the point -- I'm a sophomore who is deciding between a full year program at Oxford (Philosophy, Politics and Economics) vs. a spring semester program at Cambridge (philosophy only). I've gotten into both and need to make a decision very soon. The main things I'm worried about are LSAT prep and recommendation writers. Doing either program would make prepping for the LSAT difficult (I imagine). Ideally I would've liked to take it junior summer, but I won't even be in the US until late June/early July because English university academic years end much later than American academic years.

I'm also worried about finding recommendation writers. I was told by a friend that I ought to ideally have three recommendations -- two from professors who know me very well, and a third from someone who might not be as close with me but who looks good on paper. I have two people in mind, one professor who knows me very well and another who looks great on paper and is familiar with my writing, but I am still missing one rec writer.

There might be other things I'm not considering that I just don't know about. I would appreciate any and all thoughts on the matter.

EDIT: To make it clear, I'm wondering whether I should do the semester program or the full year program. Will being abroad for a full year hurt my chances of being able to prepare for the law school application process/the LSAT? The major test-prep places that I was interested in don't have offices in the UK, which means my only option would be to self-study. In general, do you think it's worth studying abroad if it makes LSAT prep difficult?