Invited to apply

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Veeder

Invited to apply

Postby Veeder » Wed Mar 04, 2015 10:41 pm

Hi there! This is my very first post, though I have been lingering around the forums for a few months. In the months following the December LSAT I have been invited to apply to a few schools, some of which I would have taken for "reach schools." I was curious if I had a better chance of getting accepted into these schools based simply on the fact that they had invited me to apply. Thank you in advance!

romothesavior

Re: Invited to apply

Postby romothesavior » Wed Mar 04, 2015 10:43 pm

Probably not much. Law school is really a numbers game. Depends on how your LSAT/GPA stacks up with that particular school.

What are your numbers and what schools are you looking at?

#caltrash

Postby #caltrash » Wed Mar 04, 2015 10:44 pm

Doesn't make a difference, if I recall.

rinkrat19

Postby rinkrat19 » Wed Mar 04, 2015 10:49 pm

Schools want lots of people to apply, including people they will reject. It makes their selectivity numbers look good.

Veeder

Postby Veeder » Wed Mar 04, 2015 11:48 pm

Rinkrat- That makes perfect sense.
Romo- I scored a 154, I'm embarrassed to say/ University of Minnesota- Twin Cities, namely. Definitely won't be getting in there with that score, which is why I was surprised they sent me anything. However, after seeing Rinkrat's explanation it makes perfect sense why they would.

Thank you all for the prompt replies!

romothesavior

Postby romothesavior » Thu Mar 05, 2015 10:00 am

Sorry to say OP, you'll need a much higher LSAT score to make law school a worthwhile investment. Even with an acceptance to UMN, which is unlikely, you would be facing a mountain of debt for only decent job prospects. Take a look at the stats on Law School Transparency and you'll see what I mean.

You should retake/reapply if you plan to pursue law school.

Veeder

Postby Veeder » Thu Mar 05, 2015 11:57 am