Using the Hazelwood Act with some change on the side!

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Country

Using the Hazelwood Act with some change on the side!

Postby Country » Sun Mar 01, 2015 3:55 pm

Hello veterans I’m posting the same thing in the financial aid forum. Just trying to get some solid info. I’m an Army veteran from Texas. I will have exhausted my G.I. Bill in May. I am eligible for the Hazelwood. I got admittance letters from University of Houston School of Law (tier 1) and Thurgood Marshall School of Law (tier 4). TMSL offered me a merit scholarship of $10K+ and the same each year if I remain in the top 10% of my class. I’m going to talk to them about removing the top 10 restriction and increasing it. I have not received a scholarship offer from U of H yet. I’m 99% positive I will go to U of H, but I have a family to support and me taking 3 years off to go to law school is dependent on my receiving a return check every semester to cover some of my expenses. How does it work in regards to the Hazelwood Act? If total cost is $40K, tuition is $20K (paid by Hazelwood) and then I get a $20K scholarship, does that mean that I will get the $20K returned back to me? And being a URM 34, 3.7 GPA, 153 LSAT, do I have any options in negotiating with UH since my LSAT score is below their average? Or do I just have to accept whatever they offer? I want to attend law school without having to worry about working, at least in my first year. If I do decide to go to UH regardless of what they offer me, what options do to I have and what can I expect to receive back in my pocket with using the Hazelwood plus loans? Does using the Hazelwood decrease the amount of loans you can take out or limit your scholarships? Thanks.

Winston1984

Re: Using the Hazelwood Act with some change on the side!

Postby Winston1984 » Sun Mar 01, 2015 4:58 pm