Summer dilemma: Public interest internship vs. research

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

Best summer plan for purposes of law school

PI internship
83%
Research
17%

Total votes: 6

RZ5646

Summer dilemma: Public interest internship vs. research

Postby RZ5646 » Fri Feb 27, 2015 7:34 pm

I plan on applying to law school in the fall and I have two good but mutually exclusive options this summer. Please advise me.

Option 1: Internship with public defender. 10-20 hours per week with a flexible schedule, seems fairly laid-back but will still give me experiences to talk about, I know one of the attorneys and he's cool. I'm favoring this option because I have no prior legal experience, and that will make "why law?" an awkward question in interviews. I'd also do a paid internship or part-time job at the same time.

Option 2: Paid independent research. Basically I'll get paid to research an obscure topic in the humanities and attend meetings where other people discuss their obscure research projects. This would probably make a great writing sample and letter of recommendation as well as lead to a special honors degree, but I have no interest in going to grad school so I'm not sure how valuable that really is. I'm already doing a double major and have a great gpa (4.0 school / 4.15 LSAC), so my academic credentials are probably strong enough already, right?

Finances will work out basically the same either way so that's not an issue.

My lofty goals: T14 full tuition scholly and then biglaw or bigfed.

So my question is, Is one of these options obviously better than the other?

omegaweapon

Re: Summer dilemma: Public interest internship vs. research

Postby omegaweapon » Fri Feb 27, 2015 7:44 pm

0L here, but I feel like neither would really help you for admissions, but the PD internship could help you a little at OCI so that's probably the best option.