What to do for apps and 1 more year before law school

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jthach

What to do for apps and 1 more year before law school

Postby jthach » Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:33 pm

Hello all,

So having missed the current cycle, I am planning on taking the LSAT in June and applying for the 2015-16 cycle, which would leave me as a 1L in Fall 2016. I was just wondering if anyone would have any suggestions on what to do during this gap year that would strengthen my law school apps.

A little background: I graduated from a "top state" with 3.75 (honors, student leadership, etc.), but it comes out to 3.66 LSDAS GPA, and I studied sociology. I am finishing a MA with currently a 3.85 in Human Rights and International Migration and at least got a chapter published in a new book. After college, I worked first at an internship doing development work, grants, and community organizing at a nonprofit, a job teaching at a museum, another job doing workshops at conferences across the country for youth, then worked almost 1.5 years at a gov agency as a program coordinator to develop a new city initiative to support volunteerism for seniors and older adults. With all this experience, nothing is essentially legal-related; much of it is just me trying to find work rather than following career goals. I do want to work in criminal, immigration law, and would like to work on issues regarding incarceration and prisons. However, it's been difficult finding these positions and also not having a JD to really get immersed.

Is there anything I could do to help reaching T13 easier? I have prepped high 160s, but finding it difficult to reach 170+. I would just like to hear new ideas that could point me in a better or new direction (aside from continuing to prep for 170+!). Also, is there any way to strategically talk about my work experiences? Are they even that interesting? Seniors and older adults aren't exactly a hot topic.