compiling a list of schools advice

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lawschoolbound94

compiling a list of schools advice

Postby lawschoolbound94 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 12:47 am

I've got a little time to do this. I'm still an undergrad and I'm not a junior, so I'd like to educate myself on this process.

My goals are not biglaw, although, I wouldn't be opposed to it if i had to do it until i got the loans paid. But my main goals, are a good law school with littlest debt possible, or a school that I would get a scholarship from. I'm wanting to have my own firm.

Whatever i do, I don't want to go to a bad school, like Cooley.

I have ties to Florida, California, and Michigan. Those are my target markets.

On to the question part.

Do you apply to, what i would call a safety school, like a lower tier like I did for undergrad? Or is it a bust, and don't go, and reapply? I'm probably selling myself short, but I'm terrified, I'll be rejected at my dream schools.

I'm considering schools like Michigan, USC, UCLA, Miami, UF, FSU

Should i consider Loyola in LA, U San Diego, FIU, or schools along that line as "safeties". I clearly, have just started looking into schools, so I don't know if its standard to do that. Or, should i just apply to the dream schools? Because, honestly, I would not be happy at the "safeties".

Are there any other schools you would suggest looking into for those markets I mentioned?

Rigo

Re: compiling a list of schools advice

Postby Rigo » Mon Feb 09, 2015 12:51 am

It's pretty silly worrying about all this before you've taken the LSAT (or even started studying). What is considered a reach and safety is all relative to your stats.
University of San Diego could end up being a reach or Michigan could end up being a safety.

lawschoolbound94

Postby lawschoolbound94 » Mon Feb 09, 2015 12:58 am