Realistic Expectations for admission to law school

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

Realistic Expectations for admission to law school

Postby jd2019 » Thu Jan 15, 2015 3:37 pm

Hello all,

Here's my situation: Twelve years ago I was an undergraduate student who obtained a Bachelor's of Science in Mechanical Engineering. Recently I went back to school to work on a post-baccalaureat program studying computer science and have been taking some pre-law courses on the side. I am debating the idea of attending law school. In my post bac work today, I hold a GPA of 4.0 in a hard science major and have been having equal success in my pre-law work as well. I am also studying for the LSAT in preparation to take it in June.

Here's my problem.

In my original undergraduate program, I did not do that well. My cumulative GPA was a 2.51 with multiple classes repeated. Looking back on it, I know I did not slack off or not try, I just really struggled to learn new subjects. This has obviously been improved over my twelve years working as an engineer as well as my recent capabilities in college; maybe I just learned how to learn in the interim. But I fear these old grades will haunt me and permanently blacklist me from attending a good school. And from what I've seen of the legal market, that will be necessary for obtaining a good paying job outside of school.

A wildcard in this mix will be the LSAT. I've been taking practice tests and am convinced that I can score a 170 or better on the LSAT. In addition, I have been doing an unpaid internship with one of the local law firms as well as building up contacts with people who could write good letters of reference for me. I am aware that the selection process for law school is a combination of recommendations, LSAT scores and UG GPA.