Help! Making a huge change & a below avg T14 GPA

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Formerpremed

Help! Making a huge change & a below avg T14 GPA

Postby Formerpremed » Thu Jan 08, 2015 9:36 pm

I am a former premed student in my junior year. Although I completed many of pre-med prereqs, I decided to lean toward law school over this winter break after deep contemplation. If I went the med school route, I wouldn't be working until my mid to late 30s and I thought it would be silly to pursue med school and take out a huge loan if I wasn't 100% in love with it.
Here are a couple of issues that I have that are against me:
1) My GPA: This will be a large issue with the T14. My GPA is a 3.94 cumulative HOWEVER my freshman year I was at a different school and had a horrible GPA (3.33......) I know that the schools will recalculate my GPA with my terrible first year. My GPA might plummet further depending on how I fare next semester in my Physics II course.... (Should I drop it before next semester begins since Physics is not necessary for law school and might be too risky on my GPA if I do poorly in it?)
2) My major: I am a Psychology major. Some may think it seems like an easy major and wonder why I didn't challenge myself such as in Philosophy. This also limits me to other fields that others can get into such as patent law, etc.
3)Many Ws. My first year I had many Ws. Unfortunately, I was experiencing a health issue which caused them. I was able to have it as a medical W for some of the classes that I had to W from. Because I took a medical leave of absence, it has put me a little behind.
4) I do not have any work experience or internships. I know that Northwestern Law School requires it...
UChicago Law and Northwestern Law would be my dream schools. Although, it seems I won't have a chance at Northwestern because of the lack of work experience and UChicago requires an impeccable GPA with the average being a 3.9.