GULC Considerations

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
BNA

GULC Considerations

Postby BNA » Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:21 pm

I've been browsing TLS for about a year, and finally put together (what I think) is a legitimate question for the board. Apologies in advance if this is the wrong outlet.

Until recently I'd settled on a TT, state university with my 161. I'm a GI Bill eligible vet, and intend to use it on law school. My work in the service, although not combat related, was somewhat impressive and makes for a hell of a personal statement. As for the recent shift in LS consideration, I was offered a high level GS position that starts at ~100K in D.C., which likely won't begin until around Aug/Sep. This is obviously something I can't turn down, but I am still adamant about using the GIB for LS. That said, my current thought process is to retake in June after some serious tutoring and time commitment to hit that 75th for GULC's part time program.

So, the reason for my post:

I have a 3.0 LSAC gpa, and the figures I'm seeing for their part time program reveal about a 5% acceptance rate. Is this accurate, and more importantly, is GULC a pipe-dream with that gpa? I'm confident in my ability to hit the 168 by June, but is it worth the effort with such low probability? Also somewhat relevant is the fact that I've held a 3.9 through the last 3 years of UG. Freshman year was obviously a bust. Lastly, I want to go to law school to make money. I'm not shy about my intentions in that regard, and I think that a JD will give me options. If I don't land a "big law" position, the degree will still undoubtedly further my career in government work. Between that expectation, and the fact that tuition would be about $7500/yr, I don't see many negatives if I can actually pull it off. Thanks for thoughts or advice.

twenty

Re: GULC Considerations

Postby twenty » Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:29 pm