PHD vs JD?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
leila_g83

PHD vs JD?

Postby leila_g83 » Wed Dec 31, 2014 11:06 am

I have a B.S in Insurance Management from a foreign university , after that , due to my interest in Law, I got my Masters in International Public Law from the same school with a high GPA.
Now that I am moving to the states, I have two options:
- Study for LSAT, get into a good JD law program and become a lawyer
- Go for a PHD, in a related subject like International Relations,.... and go from there
I am 31 years old and I don't know if I am too old for law school, given that the median average of applicants in good schools are around 25.
Any advice would be perfect. :)

JohannDeMann

Re: PHD vs JD?

Postby JohannDeMann » Wed Dec 31, 2014 11:51 am

law sucks. do anything else.

rondemarino

Postby rondemarino » Wed Dec 31, 2014 12:02 pm

"International Public Law" WTH?

Presumably you've been in a workforce for at least a few years. What do you want to do with any further degrees that you accumulate?

RZ5646

Postby RZ5646 » Wed Dec 31, 2014 12:32 pm

Becoming a tenured professor is like 100 times harder than becoming a big law lawyer, so just forget about that.

What else can you do with a non-STEM PhD? Some kind of business consulting?

What are your career goals? What do you want to do?

crazycanuck

Postby crazycanuck » Wed Dec 31, 2014 12:43 pm

RZ5646 wrote:Becoming a tenured professor is like 100 times harder than becoming a big law lawyer, so just forget about that.

Practically nothing. Consulting prefers MBA.

Do not under any circumstance get a PHD. You will be completely unemployable by anyone.

Rigo

Postby Rigo » Wed Dec 31, 2014 12:57 pm

Some recent opinions on the phd route:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=241082#p8253260

Not saying you should go to law school, but 31 is not too old if that's what you choose to do.

Hutz_and_Goodman

Postby Hutz_and_Goodman » Wed Dec 31, 2014 12:59 pm

You're not too old for law school