DA's Office LOR

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Aurelius85

DA's Office LOR

Postby Aurelius85 » Sun Dec 28, 2014 8:51 pm

Hey everybody,

I'd appreciate it if I could get some advice on how to approach and ask for a Letter of Recommendation, but before delve into it, let me give you some background. I plan on attending law school in the fall of 2016 and I'm currently preparing for the LSAT. I graduated from college in 2007, so it's been quite a few years since I was in school and therefore I don't have any connections to former professors. I've been working at an small IP law firm in Southern California for the last 2 years and have been interning with the Los Angeles District Attorney's Office since October 2013. Later this year I will be interning/clerking with the US Attorney's Office during the summer and fall. In addition to my work experience, I also have plenty of volunteer work (multiple years with the OC Rescue Mission and Big Bros Big Sisters) which may seem insignificant but it shows I'm interested in public/community service. I plan on pursuing and focusing on criminal law with the hope that after school I can work in the public sector (DOJ, State Attorney's Office, perhaps even DA) at some point during my career. Please bear with me, most of my plans aren't set in stone just yet, I'm still learning about some of the less talked about nuances and challenges that prospective law students encounter when they begin contemplating a career path. Nevertheless, I hope this thread will receive some good, thoughtful posts that address my question rather than periphery issues such as why I'm not pursuing biglaw.