Bad Semester Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mattf

New

Bad Semester

Post by mattf » Mon Dec 22, 2014 7:42 pm

I had a really bad semester this past semester. I got about a 1.9.

This semester was just very hectic for me. I'm majoring in Chemistry and took quite a few hard classes this semester, I started working this past semester as a tutor and took off a bit more than I could chew at 12 hours/week, I started doing laboratory research for about 6 hours/week and my dad's cancer turned for the worse giving him about 9 months to live which just added to my stress and was a constant distraction.

I did very good my first two semesters and anticipate doing extremely well the rest of my undergrad years (I got all my hard classes out of the way early) and I'm working about half as much next semester. Do I still have a chance to get into law school?

pylon

Silver

Re: Bad Semester

Post by pylon » Mon Dec 22, 2014 7:44 pm

mattf wrote:Do I still have a chance to get into law school?
Yes, schools care about your cumulative LSAC GPA and although your bad semester is unfortunate, if you consistently get good grades the rest of the way it will minimize the impact of this bad semester. Focus on the marks that are in your control and good luck!

mattf

New

Post by mattf » Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:12 pm

pylon wrote:
mattf wrote:Do I still have a chance to get into law school?
Yes, schools care about your cumulative LSAC GPA and although your bad semester is unfortunate, if you consistently get good grades the rest of the way it will minimize the impact of this bad semester. Focus on the marks that are in your control and good luck!
Good to hear! And thank you!

mattf

New

Post by mattf » Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:18 pm

Should I write an addendum about this? If so, how do I go about writing one in a way that explains the circumstances behind my low GPA instead of coming off as if I'm trying to make excuses for it?

Mack.Hambleton

Platinum