Might be getting fired... Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Andrew1012

New

Might be getting fired...

Post by Andrew1012 » Sat Dec 20, 2014 9:20 pm

Don't quote please.

Hello,

Long story short. I graduated from UG 6 months ago and have held full-time work experience since July. However, since high school, I have worked at a large retail store. I have been there for 5-7 years and, since high school, have only worked on major breaks. I kept the job for the discount and just in case I ever needed extra money.

This week, I bought my friend some things at another store with my discount that we were both going to use together. I was caught. Long story short, today I was called into the office during my first day back in months. They told me that I had been caught and had me write my side of the story to HR. They said it will take weeks to process but this might end up in my termination.

I really don't care about this job but it is very nice to have a backup (I still make a nice wage). Should I quit before I get fired if there is a 50/50 chance I get fired? The manager said he was shocked when he got the call because he knew I was a great employee so I don't think there will be much bad blood. I just REALLY don't want something like to hurt my CF.

Thoughts?

UPDATE (post later in the thread)
Andrew1012 wrote:Thanks so much for the advice! Here is how the situation has unfolded: