Low lsat addenda

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Danif2

Low lsat addenda

Postby Danif2 » Thu Dec 18, 2014 3:34 am

I was wondering about sharing SAT information as part of a statement about the LSAT being a poor predictor of your future promise at law school. I am applying this cycle and am debating submitting this information. I got an 1820 on my SAT in 2009 (83rd percentile) and had a 4.41 GPA going into college. By the time I graduated, I had a 3.87, worked almost 12 jobs, was on the high honor roll, college honors program, phi beta kappa, and a couple of other academic honors and awards. BUT my LSAT (took it in december so not 100% sure) is hovering between a 159-161. What are your thoughts on sharing past SAT scores with schools?

whitespider

Re: Low lsat addenda

Postby whitespider » Thu Dec 18, 2014 3:38 am

Eh... I'd tread carefully. If your addenda comes off anything like your post, AdComs might think you suffer from Special Snowflake syndrome.

I mean, you sound like a smart enough guy/girl. Couldn't you just work hard to increase your score a bit?

EDIT: Plus, a 160 is about 80th percentile anyhow. How will your 80th percentile SAT score impress them?

kcdc1

Postby kcdc1 » Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:12 am

What does it mean to work almost 12 jobs?

My advice: you'll get into really good schools if you score almost a 171 on the LSAT. I'd focus on impressing schools with a good score rather than a good explanation.

pylon

Postby pylon » Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:15 am

Danif2 wrote:I was wondering about sharing SAT information as part of a statement about the LSAT being a poor predictor of your future promise at law school.

Seriously? I can't see how this would be positive for you. To me it would just come across as if you're whining.

InTheHouse

Postby InTheHouse » Thu Dec 18, 2014 8:25 am