(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
nawi226

Postby nawi226 » Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:49 pm

Last edited by nawi226 on Mon Feb 16, 2015 11:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bjsesq
TLS Poet Laureate

Re: Diversity Statement as a White Male non-URM Question

Postby bjsesq » Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:51 pm

You're not diverse; don't do one.

Dany

Postby Dany » Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:02 pm

bjsesq wrote:You're not diverse; don't do one.

This.

Feel free to talk about your experiences in the personal statement, but I absolutely wouldn't write an optional diversity essay.

nawi226

Postby nawi226 » Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:04 pm

Thanks guys. So a diversity statement is more of a URM/LGBT-targeted addition?

bjsesq
TLS Poet Laureate

Postby bjsesq » Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:06 pm

nawi226 wrote:Thanks guys. So a diversity statement is more of a URM/LGBT-targeted addition?

Not necessarily, but "I studied abroad and did some awareness stuff" is not even in the ballpark.

lawschool1741

Postby lawschool1741 » Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:08 pm

bjsesq wrote:Not necessarily, but "I studied abroad and did some awareness stuff" is not even in the ballpark.

Seconded.

gatesome

Postby gatesome » Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:24 pm

Disagree 100%. Everyone is diverse. Write about what makes you different and stand out. Doesn't need to include anything about race.

sublime

Postby sublime » Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:27 pm

ChemEng1642

Postby ChemEng1642 » Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:29 pm

In one of the DS essays in the Personal Statements thread there is a list of things that work well as DS statements. I would try to find that if you can, it's a pretty good list.

Not that this applies to you - but for future reference for whoever may be reading this thread. I'll try to find it if I can

bjsesq
TLS Poet Laureate

Postby bjsesq » Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:31 pm

gatesome wrote:

Disagree 100%. Everyone is diverse. Write about what makes you different and stand out. Doesn't need to include anything about race.