Question about resume

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Yeezus

Question about resume

Postby Yeezus » Wed Dec 17, 2014 3:20 pm

Should my experiences start with the most recent one? If I have some work experience, but it's not even remotely related to anything in law, should I have it first, or can I start with my academic experiences, then put work experience at the bottom? I'm thinking the schools will care more about the academic experiences. Am I wrong?

hillz

Re: Question about resume

Postby hillz » Wed Dec 17, 2014 3:26 pm

I did mine like this:

Education (put my study abroad & student orgs under this too)
Work Experience (most recent --> oldest)
Awards & Honors
Community Involvement (my current stuff)
Interests

ChemEng1642

Postby ChemEng1642 » Wed Dec 17, 2014 3:31 pm

I think within a category (employment, extra curricular, etc.) it should be reverse chronological - but the order of the categories is up to you. I would generally say "skills" and "clubs" and such are more towards to the bottom and "employment" / "volunteer" things are more towards the top. It depends on your work experience though - if it's a real full time job I would say that goes on top. If it's only something like "desk attendant for a dorm" then you might want to put the more relevant things first.

I personally put my employment first even if it wasn't law related because I felt it was more relevant in defining me as a potential candidate - does that make sense?
Last edited by ChemEng1642 on Wed Dec 17, 2014 5:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

hillz

Postby hillz » Wed Dec 17, 2014 3:40 pm

btw, Yeezus, you might want to look at the sample resumes Harvard has up: http://www.law.harvard.edu/prospective/ ... urces.html

LET'S GET IT

Postby LET'S GET IT » Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:41 pm