Extending Undergrad

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
gaflaher

Extending Undergrad

Postby gaflaher » Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:21 pm

I'm currently in my fourth year at Ole Miss, completing three majors and two degrees. I've always had a GPA above a 3.9 until this semester, when some pretty serious personal circumstances forced me to withdraw from a study abroad course and enroll in classes several weeks late. Several Bs from the semester have dropped my GPA to a lower level than I'd like coming from a state school. My goal is to teach at a law school, so I'd like to pursue an MPhil in Political Theory at Oxford before shooting for HYS. When I apply to law school, I'll have to attach a C&F addendum. I know I can bring my GPA back up, but I don't know how far it will rise before I apply my fifth year. Assuming a killer LSAT score, what does my GPA need to be to have a shot, given that I have to overcome the C&F thing? Should I just stay in undergrad until my GPA is very high again, even if that means applying as a sixth year? As I said, my hope is to be admitted to the MPhil program first, so any advice on that front would be appreciated as well. I'm applying to law school and the grad program concurrently just in case. I think the question would be important anyway since my undergrad grades will carry so much weight even if I do go abroad first. Thoughts?

BigZuck

Re: Extending Undergrad

Postby BigZuck » Tue Dec 16, 2014 7:30 pm