Should I retake?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
hearsay77

Should I retake?

Postby hearsay77 » Tue Dec 16, 2014 2:57 pm

I got a 168 on the Sept 2014 test and have a 3.5. I applied to the bottom half of the T14, and almost everything from 15-25, been accepted to WUSTL, W&M (75% scholarship) and UCLA so far. I was deferred at Georgetown yesterday, which is one of my top choices so I'm pretty upset about that. I'm thinking about retaking in Feb after getting the email from Georgetown yesterday because I really want to do anything I can to improve my chances, and because it makes me think I'll probably have similar results and/or be waitlisted at the rest of the T14.

Before the Sept test I studied from end of June until end of Sept, took a blueprint class, and my PTs leading up to the test were around 167-171. I'm not sure if I can improve enough by the Feb test since I scored within my range and knew I probably wouldn't get at the top of my range on test day, which is why I'm very hesitant. Is it worth spending the next two months studying? I work full time and don't have room to take any time off, so I can only study nights/weekends. Will just one more point (if thats all I can improve) help me significantly enough?

Any and all advice is appreciated!
Last edited by hearsay77 on Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BigZuck

Re: Should I retake?

Postby BigZuck » Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:01 pm

Yeah sure, nothing to lose. Go for it

nothingtosee

Postby nothingtosee » Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:07 pm

Yeah. Worst case scenario nothing changes. Go up two points, expect more $

monsterman

Postby monsterman » Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:09 pm

Didn't read to see what you got. But I'm going to revise the old adage of if you have to ask, you can't afford it, to a TLS version of if you have to ask, then YES, RETAKE.

AReasonableMan

Postby AReasonableMan » Tue Dec 16, 2014 3:10 pm