Unconventional Applicant - where should I apply?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mudiverse

Unconventional Applicant - where should I apply?

Postby mudiverse » Sun Dec 14, 2014 6:05 pm

Hi folks,

Long time lurker here with a somewhat unconventional background. I would love to hear your opinion on how my profile would do in some of the T14 schools.

I graduated a large public state school with GPA: 3.55 and LSAT: 165 with two degrees (Business and Classics) in the top 10%. For the past two years, I have been working as a consultant in a widely recognized firm in the hi-tech/media space. I have some interesting extracurriculars including environmental volunteering and marathon running. I currently have strong ties to the east coast.

I want to go to law school partly because I am academically curious and strongly interested in learning about law as a means of better understanding the political/legal system's influence on the business world. The other part is because I would love to work in BigLaw or continue on to use law school analytical skills in private-sector industry. I also believe I went to a mediocre uni and am interested in rebranding myself and building a network for future opportunities. I hear that Northwestern might be a strong fit for me, as well as some JD/MBA programs.

What do you guys think? I would love to hear your thoughts.

Rigo

Re: Unconventional Applicant - where should I apply?

Postby Rigo » Sun Dec 14, 2014 6:28 pm

mudiverse wrote:GPA: 3.55 and LSAT: 165 ... I would love to work in BigLaw.

You're going to have to retake. You will need to attend a Top 13 law school to have more than a 50% chance of getting Biglaw.
A 165 is too low to overcome a relatively mediocre GPA. Even if you got into some lower T13's, then you would be paying close to sticker price and it would be unwise to take on that much debt.
Here are the medians for this year's entering 1L class: