(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
LegalEagle111

Postby LegalEagle111 » Thu Dec 11, 2014 2:10 am

Last edited by LegalEagle111 on Mon Dec 15, 2014 1:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

transferror

Re: Future JD student - need advice - help!

Postby transferror » Thu Dec 11, 2014 2:14 am

how much time did you spend studying for the LSAT?

LegalEagle111

Postby LegalEagle111 » Thu Dec 11, 2014 2:19 am

transferror wrote:how much time did you spend studying for the LSAT?

I took a course through Kaplan from March-May but it was only once a week and I was busy with school. After that semester ended (approx. May 8th) I crammed for two weeks before I left for the second study abroad program. I studied for about two more weeks while abroad and took the test in Germany June 10th. I thought that maybe I was just extra nervous because I had to leave my group and navigate the city/trains by myself... but then I studied for about a month in the U.S. before I took it the second time (same material) and only improved my score 1 point.

KMart

Postby KMart » Thu Dec 11, 2014 2:24 am

You need more review. You're going to be a great JD applicant once you shore up that LSAT. Use the guides here and study a lot more; you can get that up. Being a minority helps, but you should absolutely retake and get a higher score.

Postby 03152016 » Thu Dec 11, 2014 2:29 am

what do you mean you "don't have the time"

transferror

Postby transferror » Thu Dec 11, 2014 2:39 am

Brut wrote:what do you mean you "don't have the time"

This.

There's no excuse. Wait a cycle. Wait two. It doesn't matter. A lousy class once per week + 2 weeks of cramming isn't studying. The LSAT is beatable. It can be learned. Spend the time, don't take it a 3rd time until you're regularly PT'ing above a 165 (at the very least). It will change your life.