Slew of LS questions from a 1st-semester undergrad freshman Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
wunderkind2

New

Slew of LS questions from a 1st-semester undergrad freshman

Post by wunderkind2 » Mon Dec 08, 2014 8:17 pm

Hi TLS!

I just met with a pre-law advisor at my school and after browsing the forums here, it seems that you all aren't too big on pre-law advisors, so I figured I'd ask you all the same questions.

Anyway, here goes!

I'm a first-semester freshman at an elite, private non-Ivy undergraduate institution. Based on AP credit and how I was able to craft my schedule, I'll be graduating in 2.5 years as opposed to the normal 4. This semester I'm pulling a 4.0 and I imagine I'll graduate with at least a 3.8, considering the classes that I have left to take are rather similar to the ones I took this semester (I know, it's tough to project such a high GPA after barely a semester, but roll with me here). I took a practice LSAT a week ago and got a 164. In terms of my "softs," I've interned with/will intern with a number of prominent politicians from my home state, I'm very involved at my undergraduate institution (executive board of a club as a freshman, student govt., writer for the law journal, club sport athlete, community service work), and I've worked as a journalist for a variety of outlets since high school. I will be doing a legal internship this summer. I'm also in the process of publishing a book (memoir of my senior year of high school).

I took the only math course I'll have to take here as a pass/fail this semester. I plan to apply in the October of my final semester at college, which would be the Fall 2016 cycle.

Anyway, my questions are as follows (and you can probably guess how my pre-law advisor answered most of them if I'm coming for a second opinion):

1. Is the pass/fail going to kill my chances at the Top 6? What about graduating in just 2.5 years? What about both? What if I pull a 3.8+, 170+?