Do I listen to my advisor? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
thomas.dowling96

New

Do I listen to my advisor?

Post by thomas.dowling96 » Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:17 pm

Hi this is my first post, so please forgive any agregious breach of protcol that I am unaware of!

So I am a Freshman at UIUC in my first semester. With my midterm grades I currently have a 4.0. I realize that its just the first semester and its unlikely that that trend continues, but so far I feel very unchallanged as far as classes go, and everything has been incredibly easy.

I am currently a double major in political science and histroy, and when speaking to my advisor he told me I should take some math/infomatic classes in the next four years. I am horrible at math, and I am afraid that if I take the classes my GPA will tank. But at the same time, it would make sense to have a minor in some math related feild, and it would make me more marketable. Do I take the math courses, or do I just focus on what I am strong in to ensure my GPA stays above a 3.8?

phillywc

Gold

Re: Do I listen to my advisor?

Post by phillywc » Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:20 pm

For just law school admissions purposes, keep your GPA as high as possible.
For getting a job, taking Stats/CompSci classes could help. I don't know that pure math classes are gonna help you get a job.

You are a freshman. You don't know for sure yet law school is what you want to do. Take a class or two that will help with job skills in case you don't want to be a lawyer.

smile0751

Bronze

Post by smile0751 » Tue Oct 21, 2014 2:37 pm