A couple questions Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
GruffGadfly

New

A couple questions

Post by GruffGadfly » Thu Sep 11, 2014 1:01 pm

I've been lurking on these forums for over a year now, and I really appreciate the time and effort many of you have put in to helping people on here.

I'm a 25 year old freshman (possibly sophomore; explained later), and while I know it's a bit early to be trying to set anything in stone, I like to plan ahead. While I've been aware of the importance of the LSAT for a while, I have yet prepare in any way. I intend to put in at least 6 months of study following my UG graduation.

Anyways, my first question has to do with LSAT predictors. Specifically, which is a better predictor of future LSAT performance: performance on previous LSATs or on pretests designed to help those taking the current test?

I found the '07 test last night, and decided to give it a shot to see how I would do without study. I scored a 167, though this is obviously not accurate because I didn't check my start/stop times. I don't believe I took more than a couple hours, maybe a little less. I feel that I have reason to be optimistic about my future results (assuming adequate preparation), but I don't know if the test has changed substantially in content or difficulty in the last seven years, or whether it's expected to in the next three.

My second question is about grade padding. As with many others, I bombed my first semester (back in '08, just started again this spring). No excuses, nothing worthy of an addendum, just a depressed drunk. That being said, I'm ball-parking my best possible GPA (based on performance so far, interest and competence in my major field of study) as about 3.75. What is the consensus on taking easy summer classes to pad one's LSAC gpa? It seems like even a string of A's is only likely to bring me up to a bit above 3.8. Is a potential .5 gpa bump worth the investment in both money and time?